Seeds, Weeds and Dreams

IMG_0841The first post in a (hopefully) series of gardening ramblings…ahem…memoirs…seems a lot like trying to pick out seeds for the first time of the season.  I haven’t a clue what the garden will turn out like this year, no idea what will grow well and what will fail, which varieties will thrive in our wacky weather or if an early July hurricane will leave me crying in my bean patch having to decide whether to start over or pack it all in.  Just as when opening up my seed catalogues for the first time in the dregs of January, the first question is – Where in Heaven’s name do I start?

Me, I guess.  I am a thirty something, working mother of 2 very busy girls who fill my heart to bursting. I love to watch them grow and develop as I try my best to feed and nurture them, weeding through what is needed for them to blossom into kind, caring, spiritually rooted young ladies who respect themselves, others and our environment. I have an extremely understanding hubby who lets us turn the house into an indoor incubation station, a legal “grow-up” with plant lighting the neighbours can see 5 doors down at night, a porch plant nursery and he pretends that he cares as much about our “veggie babies” as we do.  Plus he willingly helps out with the heavy lifting and looks really good while he does it!  And of course, I have the cutest fur-baby ever who welcomes one and all for a visit and a snuggle and guards the garden from the sinister rabbits and deer.  I am pretty blessed.

I have no formal training in horticulture, am too distractible to really be bothered to learn the “proper” way of doing things and thoroughly enjoy just spending time experimenting in growing – vegetables, flowers, shrubs, relationships with anyone who will spend some time with me in the dirt or enjoying what comes of out of it…

I don’t suppose to have any answers or wisdom, just passion to share with those who are willing to spend some time with my thoughts – who knows maybe someone else will become a bit more inspired in the end.

Ramblings…ahem…memoirs will simply chronicle my sometimes successful, sometimes not-so-successful attempts at planting roots of all sorts in the beautiful place I call home, Nova Scotia.

8 thoughts on “Seeds, Weeds and Dreams

  1. This is a great start my mega green thumbed cousin; only you can grow such incredible things in NS weather while I struggle with my babies in tropical weather, lol.

    Like

  2. Great blog! I like to think of myself as having somewhat of a green thumb, although with all the kids I’ve had in the last 5 years it’s hard to find the time. I look forward to reading more of your blog and will likely call on you for advice as I start to grow my own food. Keep up the great work!

    Like

      • Blogs are a great tool for sharing – and gaining information too! They are also a wonderful record for when those flowers have gone and the veggies eaten, a digital journal of sorts 😉 Enjoy!

        Like

What are you musings today? Please leave comments below, we love to hear from others!

