Tomato-geddon begins! Little hands strike again….

“Mama!  I dropped some on the floor, so I picked them up and threw them in too!” Pause, 2, 3, 4….

“Mama!  Did you say 6 or did you really mean 14?!”  Pause 2, 3, 4…

“Mama!!  I really like purple, so I added 7 extra seeds.” Pause 2, 3, 4…

“Mama! If the seeds are a little furry, is it okay if I just plant them all?  I think there were about 18, but only 3 weren’t furry…” Pause 2, 3, 4…

“Mama!  Is it okay if I added 2 for good luck?”

These are actual quotes that I managed to write down while suppressing giggles, a few tears and trying not to panic out loud.

Yup – little hands were at it again!  “Tomato-geddon” officially began for the 2015 season on March 31st.  “6 of each kind, except the orange ones, you can plant 12 of those. But no more.”, I said.

We had carefully selected 9 varieties of tomatoes to try this year after looking through our notes, checking out the catalogues and reading reviews on our new favourite blogs.  We picked 9 types knowing full well that we would inevitably find a 10th seedling variety that we couldn’t survive the summer without at one of the greenhouses we frequent in the summer (well, okay, maybe 2 more types if we happen to black-out a little from all the excitement and the heat)…that would give us no more than 66 plants if all the seedlings made it.  My plan was for 30, max, to go into the garden, a few in big planters and a few to share.

I should have known better!

Here is how is went down…

image

First we set up our starter trays – we thought it was oddly amusing to plant tomato seeds in tomato containers…

image

image

Then Little hands filled them about 2 inches full with Pro Mix…only a bit ended up on the floor…

image

She wet the soil to nice and moist with warm water…

image image   image

Then she began planting her seeds.  She planted determinate and indeterminate, both heirloom and hybrids (we need some to survive the late blight).  I had my back to her as I was washing up some other trays to plant annual flowers.  I thought I could trust her to stick with the limits!  I forgot that she was my kid!  Bahahahahaha!!!

In the end she started:

Heirlooms:

3, or maybe 18, Gold Dust

6 Mennonite (orange)

8 Alaska

8, or maybe, 20 Scotia

6 12 Sub Arctic Plenty (they fell on the floor)

6 Ha! 13 Black Plum, and maybe more…

Hybrids:

14 Sun Gold cherry – 2 for good luck, they are her favourite!

6 14 Big Beef, because 6 really does mean 14…

8 Lemon Boy, we ran out of seeds…

image

Before I could get an accurate head count, they were snuggled under a fine layer of soil and spritzed oh-so-carefully…

image

After they were all covered up, they got placed on the heat mats to speed up germination – which amazingly only took 3 or 4 days to start.

image

One week later, here were about 92 happy little seedlings reaching up for the lights!

I feel another epic potting up party coming up this weekend.  I hope I have enough yogourt containers saved up! I love those Little hands so very much…

It is still 6 weeks until we should be able to plant tomatoes out into the garden without extra protection- there is still time to start some from seed!

“Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is knowing not to put it in a fruit salad.” ~Brian O’Driscoll

11 thoughts on “Tomato-geddon begins! Little hands strike again….

  1. Oh my gosh! I love love being in Zone 8 (9?). My tomato plants are already hip-high and loaded with fruit (I cheated…I purchase already-started nursery plants). I should be eating my first Roma or cherry in a couple of weeks, and will pick fruit until (hopefully) the end of July, judging from our rainfall. Tomatoes: the BEST reason for being near the Gulf Coast. I should take a photo…

    I love that your up-cycling the tomato containers and that I see little hands in your pictures. Kids love to be involved in food-to-face operations, particularly when they can watch everything from the seed — nature’s perfect packaging.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: Tomato Time!! | Nova Scotia Roots

  3. Pingback: Tomato Taste-off! | Nova Scotia Roots

  4. Pingback: EPIC Tomato Identification Error! HELP!! | Nova Scotia Roots

What are you musings today? Please leave comments below, we love to hear from others!

