Tree Following – My Wee Girl’s Magnolia in May

This is the first month of my wee girl’s endeavour’s to “Follow a Tree“.  She selected a Magnolia from our back yard that the girl’s gave me for Mother’s Day 2 years ago.  I won’t say what variety it is until it blooms because it is really quite spectacular and she wants it to be a surprise!

Each month she will head outside and take a picture of this tree (at least until November, at which point it may get boring to watch, but we will see…maybe the snow accumulation will be interesting!)  Depending on her thoughts of the day, she may write down her observations about the buds, blossoms, leaves, bark, nibblings etc. or she may just post a picture.  This tree has yet to be named, so I suspect one of these months it will be!

image

Here is her first picture (remember she is only 7, so it may not be centered or focussed, but I am not going to edit her work in any form, this is her personal project to learn from and reflect upon). She even picked her own quote this month! I think these little projects are such beautiful learning gems, I hope they get as much out of learning about their environment as I do from learning about them!

Early May has been cold, not much is happening…no big buds yet…hopefully June will bring some fun!

“We can learn a lot from trees; they’re always grounded, but never stop reaching heavenward.” ~Everett Mamor

http://looseandleafy.blogspot.co.uk/p/what-is-tree-following-and-list-of-tree.html

16 thoughts on “Tree Following – My Wee Girl’s Magnolia in May

  1. What a beautiful quote, your wee girls adventure taking monthly pictures of the tree is a fabulous idea, and I will be sitting on the edge of my seat waiting for next month’s installment picture. I adore all trees no matter what they look like and I think this monthly post will attract many other tree followers as well.. Bravo wee girl.. love the first picture 🙂

    Take care and happy blogging to ya, from Laura in Northern Ontario, Canada ~

    Like

  2. Much looking forward to learning about this tree as it goes through the year. Even piled with snow it will, I’m sure, be beautiful! Maybe you will see some creatures near it or on it too! So glad you have joined us in this project. We are all learning from it . . . and enjoying it . . . and having our eyes opened by it.

    By the way, I enlarged your photo and admired the clouds too.
    I’m wondering . . . being seven, you probably won’t want your real name to be out on the internet but how about you and your mum having special internet names so you know when we are speaking directly to one or the other of you?

    Like

  3. Love seeing your updates but this one is special as your wee one has a corner of my heart! Please tell her I have some calendula seeds for her. Working this weekend. 🙂

    Like

    • Oh Megan, thank you! She has called Bloom twice to see when you were working to bring her coleus in, but it has not lined up with my schedule yet… We will definitely drop by this weekend, what day are you there? She was very pleased to hear your comment! Thank you!

      Like

What are you musings today? Please leave comments below, we love to hear from others!

