Finally Filthy Fingernails

The sun is out, the glaciers are receding and I have proof of life after all of that snow!  The gardens are slowly melting and and revealing their treasures (no sign of the veggie garden yet….).  What else would I do but dig?!

image

image

Slowly receding snow banks force me to pace myself…which is good because I hate weeding…

imageimage

The problem with not really knowing how to garden is that I don’t really know what I planted and what I should pull out…Oooops!

image image

Hair cuts for the Goji berries , lavender and oregano!

image

Even my wee girl’s flowers came out for a coffee and some sunshine – the snow in the background makes me giggle as I sit in my short sleeves and rubber boots…

image

Big hands with happy, filthy fingernails, finally!!

10604039_10154659683330001_2043463399849470436_o

Can’t wait for more life to pop!

“I don’t want to drive up to the pearly gates in a shiny sports car, wearing beautifully, tailored clothes, my hair expertly coiffed, and with long, perfectly manicured fingernails.
I want to drive up in a station wagon that has mud on the wheels from taking kids to scout camp.
I want to be there with a smudge of peanut butter on my shirt from making sandwiches for a sick neighbors children.  I want to be there with a little dirt under my fingernails from helping to weed someone’s garden. I want to be there with children’s sticky kisses on my cheeks and the tears of a friend on my shoulder. 

I want the Lord to know I was really here and that I really lived.”

~ Marjorie Pay Hinckley

4 thoughts on “Finally Filthy Fingernails

  1. Yayyy!!! I have a goji bush too, this is its 3rdyear. Have you ever gotten berries on it? I haven’t yet. I wasn’t sure if I should trim it.
    So exciting to get back outside. Happy post!! Love that poem on the end too

    Like

    • We just planted them last year and they went completely bonkers! We did get some berries last year, my husband loved them, but I am afraid they make me gag…I would need a pound of sugar in the jam pot for my liking! I am not really sure if I pruned them correctly because the Internet was conflicted but they were so foolish they needed to be curtailed regardless 😊. I am hoping the sunshine sticks around!!

      Like

  2. Glad to see you’re getting dirty again. I know I’m not mentally well unless there’s dirt under my toe and finger nails. Shorts and boots? But there’s snow on the ground!! You’ve already seen how green it is here. Like tropical paradise compared to this post.

    Loved the quote at the end. I share Hinckley’s sentiment. Cheers!

    PS – Did you get your video yet?

    Like

What are you musings today? Please leave comments below, we love to hear from others!